Sammies 2008 winners

Surprises abound at the 17th annual Sacramento Area Music Awards

Photos By dominick porras

I spent most of the 2008 Sacramento Area Music Awards looking for Kurt Cobain’s footprints, bothering musicians and getting kicked out of the Crest Theatre (twice!) by overzealous security officers.

But amid my waywardness I caught all sorts of rad live performances: The Evening Episode, An Angle, Th’ Losin Streaks, Live Manikins, Ricky Berger and the New Humans all killed it. Many others gigged on a second stage. And at the end of the night—after beer-addled tomfoolery, backstage antics, finally finding Cobain’s green sneaker prints—Butterscotch whisked her way onto the stage, transfixed the crowd, threw down with a full band and brass section, collaborated with emcee Random Abiladeze and sent everyone home (or to the after-party featuring the Snobs) stoked to be a music fan in Sacramento. Say what you want about SN&R and the Sammies—and I know you have plenty to jaw about—but this was a memorable night for local music. Here are some grabs from the July 17 evening.

Readers’ Choice Winners


Hard Rock/Alternative

Red Tape

Agent Ribbons

Light Rail

The Secretions


Tha Fruitbat

Alas, Alak, Alaska!

Be Brave Bold Robot

The New Humans

The Snobs

Sacramento Blues Revue

Ross Hammond

Arden Park Roots

Critics’ Choice Awards

Outstanding New Release Girls on the Run by Knock Knock
Outstanding Live Performance Live Manikins
Outstanding New Artist The Ancient Sons
Outstanding Guitarist Jeff Watson, Jeff Watson Band
Outstanding Bassist Dave Garrity, Rowdy Kate
Outstanding Keyboardist Cole Cuchna, The New Humans
Outstanding Drummer Kiel Gesicki, Final Summation
Outstanding Male Vocalist Kevin Lee, Silver Darling
Outstanding Female Vocalist Rikki Bernado, Dance for Destruction
Outstanding Female Vocalist Terra Lopez, The Evening Episode
Outstanding Reed/Brass/Woodwind Player Jason Boggs, The Snobs
Outstanding DJ/Turntablist DJ Rated R
2008 SN&R Award Righteous Movement
2008 SN&R Award Art Lessing & The Flower Vato
2008 SN&R Award Pressure Point
2008 Critics’ Choice for Outstanding Contribution to Local Music Jerry Perry
2008 Critics’ Choice for Outstanding Local Artist of the Year Butterscotch

2008 Hall of Fame Inductees
Crazy Ballhead
Didley Squat
Stuart Nishiyama
Matt K. Shrugg