Mason DeMusey

On August 18, fans of roots-rock will have something to celebrate: The return of Forever Goldrush, well, at least for one night. The band, which made its way onto the Sacto scene in 1999, was immediately lauded for its Southern rock-meets-country sound. To the disappointment of many, the band called it quits in 2002. Luckily, the good ol’ boys decided to dust off some old tracks for a new album. The release party will be held at Old Ironsides this Saturday. Tickets are $8. SN&R caught up with bassist Mason DeMusey, who put together this little list of tunes.

1. “The Galway Girl”
by Steve Earle (from Transcendental Blues)

2. “Walken”
by Wilco (from Sky Blue Sky)

3. “The Machine Song”
by Ghosts of California (from Ghosts of California EP)

4. “Please Don’t Bury Me”
by John Prine (from Sweet Revenge)

5. “Longhaired Redneck”
by David Allan Coe (from David Allan Coe: 17 Greatest Hits)