Sick leave for all
Employers of all sizes in California now must provide workers with paid sick leave
As of July 1, an estimated 6.5 million Californians are now eligible for paid sick leave for the first time.
Under the Healthy Workplace Healthy Family Act, authored by Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego), businesses of all sizes must allow workers to accrue one hour of sick leave per 30 hours of work or opt to grant employees three days of sick leave up front, to be used throughout the year. Both part-time and full-time employees can use their leave after 90 days of working for the same employer, and there is a 30-day window after taking leave during which an employee cannot be fired unless the employer is able to provide another reason.
Previously, low-wage hourly workers in restaurants and retail often weren't provided sick leave, “folks who, unfortunately, are barely getting by,” Gonzalez told USA Today.