Thank You

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude, appreciation, and thanks to those who have unselfishly given of themselves and their time to make this evening possible.

Thank You to our Co-Chairs

Doni Blumenstock
Executive Director
American Leadership Forum

Bill Camp
Executive Secretary
Sacramento Central Labor Council

Robert Crouch
Senior Vice President
Wells Fargo Bank

Mary Hogarty
Community Relations Director
Central Valley/Nevada Region, Citibank West

Grantland Johnson
California Health and Human Services Agency

Dennis Mangers
Senior Vice President
California Cable & Telecommunications Association

Dexter McNamara
Executive Director
Interfaith Service Bureau

Kais Menoufy
President & CEO

Scott Syphax
President & CEO
Nehemiah Corporation

Jeff von Kaenel
President & CEO
Sacramento News & Review

Thank you to our Honorary Board

Rashid Ahmad
Council on American Islamic Relations

Michael Alcalay
President & CEO
Alcalay Communications

Dr. Metwalli Amer
Sacramento Area League of Associated Muslims
Council of Sacramento Valley Islamic Organizations

James Anderson
Executive Vice President
United Way California Capital Region

Phil Angelides
State of California

Rabbi Brad Bloom
Congregation B’nai Israel

Roger Dickinson
County of Sacramento

Carrie Grip
Executive Director
Rebuilding Together

Gloria Hernandez
Executive Director
Sacramento Area Congregations Together

Bishop Dennis Holland
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Kevin Johnson
St. Hope Academy

Bill Lockyer
Attorney General
State of California

Archie Milligan
Executive Director
Habitat for Humanity

Richard Montgomery
Interfaith Service Bureau

Reverend Faith Moran
Spiritual Life Center

Darshan Singh Mundy
Sikh Temple, West Sacramento

Reverend James Richardson
Trinity Cathedral

Representative Darrell Steinberg
California State Assembly

Durriya Syed
Sacramento Area League of Associated Muslims

Fred Teichert
Executive Director
The Teichert Foundation

Diane Thomas
Development Director
American Red Cross Sacramento Sierra Chapter

Thank you to the Artists, Speakers, and Performers


St. Paul’s Episcopal Handbell Choir

Schola Cantorum, Sacred Heart Church

Mary Youngblood

Sheikh Refaat El Sayed & Maren Shawesh

Muslim Youth

Faith Fellowship Community Church

Maria Bueb, Trinity Cathedral

Rachel Songer, Holy Spirit Church & The Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament

Primary Children’s Chorus from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Rondalla de Guadalupe, The Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe

Hazzan Avraham Alpert, Mosaic Law Congregation

Spiritual Life Center Choir

Sharon Davis
First Lady of California

Secretary Grantland Johnson,
California Health & Human Services Agency

Jeff von Kaenel,
President & CEO, Sacramento News & Review

Rabbi Brad Bloom
Congregation B’nai Israel

Dexter McNamara,
Executive Director, Interfaith Service Bureau

The event would not have succeeded without the contributions of these sponsors:

California Cable and Telecommunications Association

Capital Unity Council



Home Depot


Nehemiah Foundation


Teichert Foundation

UC Davis Health System

Wells Fargo Bank

Thank you to these businesses for their support

20/30 Club
Aspire Foundation
Blue Sky Day Spa
Café Italia
Casilla’s Cigars
Chops Steakhouse
Cobblestone Restaurant
Cornerstone Restaurant
Costal Azul Restaurant
Crest Café
Dr. McClurg
East End Bar and Grill
Elite Solutions
Espanol Italian Restaurant
Gaesorn Thai
Jackson Rancheria
Marilyn’s at 12th & K
Max’s Opera Café & Max’s Café, Roseville
Midtown Wireless
Nishiki Sushi
Paradise 2 Go Travel
Play to Win
Sacramento Housing Alliance
Sampon Fusion
Sterling Hotel
Surewest Wireless
Ultimate Image Salon
Vallejos Restaurant
Vics Ice Cream
Virgin Megastore
Wireless Xpert
Zigatos Restaurant

Event staff:

Director: Jackie Schultz
Host: Dana Howard
Sound and Lighting: Mondavi Center
Video: ATV Video
Catering: Piatti’s

Project Manager: Chris Caraway
Logistical Coordinator: Kelsey Falle
VIP Coordinator: Melissa Patrice
Logistical Assistant: Francesca Harris
Art Director: Marianne Mancina
Online Coordinator: Michele Brown
Copy Editor: Brandye Alexander

Mondavi Ticket Staff: Shauna Theisman, Ricky Booker
Mondavi Operations: Gwen Gibson
Mondavi Technical : Steve McFerron, Kevin Fortnee
Assistant Stage Managers: Erika Rodrigez, Kimberly Vaughn, Katie Baad, Syche Hamilton, Karen Lawrence, Cameron Johnson, Elona Benefel
Video Segment: George Nyberg

More from A Call for Unity

Event Schedule
September 13, 2003 | 8pm | Robert & Margrit Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, UC Davis

Building Unity
A Monument to Public Service

Honoring Dr. Metwalli B. Amer
Recipient of the Building Unity Award for Outstanding Contributions to Interfaith Understanding and Cooperation

Celebrate the richness and diversity of our community

Celebrate the richness and diversity of our community

Proclamation of Call for Unity Week