SN&R’s election endorsements for November 4, 2015

Don’t forget to vote!

Measure L


The political system in the city of the Sacramento—where council members represent neighborhoods, the mayor sits on council and operates as our de facto leader, and the city manager runs the business side of things—has worked for decades. Everyone agrees it’s working great now. And Sacramento is changing for the positive. Let’s not mess with a good thing by giving Kevin Johnson and future mayors unprecedented, unnecessary and potentially dangerous new powers. Vote no on L.

Sacramento City Council, District 3

Jeff Harris

This district—which includes East Sacramento, south Natomas and the River District—has two sharp and passionate candidates to choose from. Cyril Shah has impressed in this election season’s second leg; he boasts smart ideas when it comes to boosting the local economy, and his establishment support and endorsements far exceed those of Harris. But we’re sticking with the guy we stood behind this past spring. Vote Jeff Harris.

Sacramento City Council, District 8

Larry Carr

Carr has the experience, knowledge and connections to step in and continue where Councilwoman Bonnie Pannell left off after retiring this past summer. He’ll do fine representing District 8.

Sacramento City Unified School District, Area 1

Anna Molander

Last year, SN&R said it would not endorse any candidate that voted yes on the school closures. We’re holding true on that promise in our endorsement of Molander over Jay Hansen.

Sacramento City Unified School District, Area 2

Ellen Cochrane

Candidate Jeff Cuneo is a good, honest guy. But he voted yes on the school closures last year, in addition to supporting the CORE waiver and making student test scores part of teacher evaluations. We don’t support these policies. So, we can’t support Cuneo—although we would be disappointed to see him go.

Sacramento City Unified School District, Area 6

Maria Haro-Sullivan

Haro-Sullivan’s opponent, Darrel Woo, supported the school closures, hence her endorsement.

Sacramento City Unified School District, Area 7

Jonathan Tran

Up-and-comer Tran has been pivotal in south Sacramento when it comes to speaking out against SCUSD policies that are bad for the neighborhood. He’d be a tremendous school-board member for Area 7.

State Senate, District 6

Roger Dickinson

Current Assembly member Dickinson has been an important progressive voice in the community. As we wrote in our endorsements this past spring, he fought at the statehouse for more transparency when it comes to the dangerous—and potentially explosive—Bakken crude-oil train shipments that pass through our central city and neighborhoods each day. Dickinson has earned your vote.

State Assembly, District 7

Kevin McCarty

McCarty questions the status quo. We liked him on city council, where he kept the mayor’s “strong” majority in check. He’ll be an effective Assembly member.

State Assembly, District 9

Darrell Fong

Like McCarty, Councilman Fong belies a herd mentality when it comes to popular issues at City Hall. What people don’t know is that he also worked hard to make the city more business friendly. SN&R supports his Assembly bid.

Proposition 1


Proposition 2


Proposition 45


Proposition 46


Proposition 47


Proposition 48


State superintendent of public instruction

Tom Torlakson

This is the hot statewide race, and while we agree with some of candidate Marshall Tuck’s ideas and accept the necessity for new solutions in the world of education, we also worry (as we wrote this past spring) that his charter-schools vision will incite war instead of change. What California needs is gradual, smart, progressive education reform. We hope that Torlakson will bring that in his next term.

U.S. representative, District 3

John Garamendi

U.S. representative, District 6

Doris Matsui

U.S. representative, District 7

Ami Bera

U.S. representative, District 9

Jerry McNerney

Member, State Board of Equalization District 1

Chris Parker

Insurance commissioner

Dave Jones

Attorney general

Kamala D. Harris


John Chiang


Betty T. Yee

Secretary of state

Alex Padilla

Lieutenant governor

Gavin Newsom


Jerry Brown